Key West wedding, Marriage License.

Key West marriage license and how do I get one.

 A marriage license is a document which allows couples to be legally recognized as married. While we often think of church bells, solemn vows, and gold rings as the most important features of a wedding, in the eyes of the law it is only this piece of paper that is indispensable. In a Key West wedding, a marriage license is subject to all the rules and regulations of Monroe County Florida, and includes a short checklist of necessary items before the license can be awarded.
 

 What you need.

  • Each of the individuals to be married are at least 18 years old, or 16 years old with parental consent.

  • A fee or $93.50.

  • Both applicants are required to read the “Family Law Handbook” provided by the state.

In addition to these items those who are looking to get married in Key West can elect to receive a $32.50 discount on their license by completing a premarital course. The course needs to be finished within one year before the marriage, both participants must attend the course, and a certificate of completion must be presented. This discount is only available to Florida Residents.

 Other answers to frequently asked questions.

  • No, you do not need to be a resident of Florida to receive a marriage license for Key West Weddings.

  • Blood tests are not required.

  • If this isn’t your first marriage, you must be able to supply the date of your divorce or the date of your previous spouse’s death.

  • Florida does not require witnesses in its weddings.

  • Proxy marriages and common law marriages are not allowed in the state of Florida, same sex marriages and cousin marriages are.

 If you have any questions on how to get started planning your Key West wedding, call Sunshine Weddings in Key West at (305)927-8802.

© 2015-2019 Sunshine Weddings & Events, Inc

Key West, Florida